RSS

Personalization Matters: Pitching a Marketer via Cold Email? Do Your Homework

04 Dec

Personalization Matters: Pitching a Marketer via Cold Email? Do Your Homework
Alex Salkever

Alex Salkever

Head of Marketing at Silk

Follow

Dec 1, 2015

As someone who runs marketing at a cool company, I get pitched for services all the time. Unfortunately, most of them are truly terrible. Which pains me because using a modicum of smarts and efforts, they might garner a better response. In general, I believe fully automated pitches SIMPLY DO NOT WORK. Below is a pitch I received today with my commentary.

Hi Alex,

Got my name right. Good start.

I was doing some research and noticed that you head up marketing at Silk.

Really? You noticed it? I have trouble believing it was accidental in any sense.

I was curious, are you struggling to drive demand and measurable results through your content?

Cut to the chase. So you are a content marketing agency and you don’t know how to properly use a comma? That’s not a good sign. And do you realize how canned and generic this sentence actually is? Do you even know what might constitute measurable results for me? Do you know what my product actually is? I would have to guess you probably don’t.

At NAME OF PROMINENT MARKETING AGENCY DELETED we hear time and time again how most marketing teams cannot drive measurable demand through their content, which is something we’ve fixed for brands such as Qualtrics and New Balance.

So if you had bothered to check our blog, you might have noticed I write a lot of our content. Rather than use these generic terms, maybe mention a blog post or two I’ve written? Or ask me how they worked? And again – this is a really long sentence. Didn’t your read all the content marketing guides about how to properly structure sentences in email pitches? (short, punchy). Also, how do you know if those two “brands” are relevant to me? Am I a sneaker company? Or an enterprise survey company? Or am I both?

Do you have a few minutes this afternoon so I can share a few ideas on how Silk can produce measurable results through content?

Probably not. It’s pretty hard to drop everything for a canned email from a person that hasn’t bothered to do the first bit of research about me and my company. But if you want to email me a few specific tips about how Silk.co could grow users (and had done so in the first email) , I might have responded and scheduled a time. Might have. Only if you replied with proper grammar. 🙂

-NAME OF EMAIL SALES PERSON DELETED

PS: If you don’t want to hear from me again, please CLICK HERE

Yup, clicked that button. Bye.

 

Leave a Reply

 
digiphile

We're already living in the future. It's just not evenly distrbuted yet.

The JAY Group

Insight, observations, and opinions on everything about loyalty marketing.

Springwise

Thoughts on "marketing to people" and polls to share opinions

Lexicon Blog

Thoughts and insights on name branding.

Calling All Storytellers...

The new social network, Medium, is the perfect place for you.

wellbelove.wordpress.com/

#SocialMedia #Marketing #Technology

VentureBeat

Silicon Valley news about tech money and innovation

imagine change

Just another WordPress.com site

PingTheNews

Your source for news, information & resources

AccuProcess

Business Process Modeling Software www.accuprocess.com

Jeffbullas's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Gods of Advertising

We make you want what you don't need.

tim

Business Development & Offshore outsourcing

White Elephant in the Room

random insight from an unwanted houseguest

Tradesmen Insights

Marketing to the professional tradesman in the Construction, Industrial and MRO markets

